Kane Whacks Them All!

A large field turned out to compete for Mr Alistair Crockett’s Skipper’s Day Prize at Prehen this week. Played in splendid conditions the scoring was impressive given the difficulty of the course set-up provided. Mr Norman Kane(16) trounced all opposition with a very fine 42 point total, the compilation of which was as steady as the man himself! An easy outward journey allowed Norman to collect nineteen points despite dropping shots at the relatively easy Par 4 6th, “Swilken” and the tricky Par 3 8th, “The Crow’s Nest”. On the homeward journey Norman turned on the style, carding pars at ten, twelve and seventeen and throwing in a superb birdie two at the difficult Par 3 15th, “The Quarry” to add 23 points and post a 42 point total to claim the Skipper’s Prize. Cecil Thompson(13) fought all the way for his 41 points to claim second place while Thomas McClintock(9)  took third prize after surviving a break-of tie with Arthur O’Hara.

In his presentation speech Skipper Alastair Crockett thanked all those who had made his year in office so enjoyable and especially thanked Mr Eamon McCourt, Thursday Society Secretary, for all his hard work throughout the year.

The Fitzpatrick Trophy for Golfer of the Year was presented to Mr Seamus Given who was also elected as Skipper for the 2017/18 season.

Results & Report: Martin Doherty

Images supplied by Martin Doherty

30.03.17 Mr Alistair Crockett’s Skipper’s Day






Norman Kane




Cecil Thompson




Thomas McClintock


Fitzpatrick Trophy for Golfer of the Year

Seamus Given

NQ. *Break of tie.